November 3rd 2013 was the day YouTube started its own music awards gala.

2013 YouTube Music Awards

Lady Gaga at the 2013 YouTube Music Awards. Image c/o

The show on Sunday night was a mix between A-list names and underground ones, in their trial to set apart from the rest of music awards business. Jason Schwartzman and Reggie Watts hosted the show, which was apparently unscripted. The show also got mixed reviews, some saying that it was poorly organized, while others being excited for the new way that music is viewed and spread these days.

Lady Gaga took the red carpet by surprise, if we can still say that about her. She wore all black, with a hat, dark hair, round sunglasses, leather Saint Laurent shirt and high platform booties. The cherry on top: fake teeth, which made her look like next year’s Halloween costumes. For her performance, though, she changed to sing “Dope” for the first time. The song was also released on iTunes on the same night. Other performers last night were Tyler, the Creator, and Earl Sweatshirt.

2013 YouTube Music Awards

Vanessa Hudgens at the 2013 YouTube Music Awards. Image c/o

2013 YouTube Music Awards

M.I.A. at the 2013 YouTube Music Awards. Image c/o


Vanessa Hudgens had a skit at the awards, together with Michael Shannon, and written by Lena Dunham. For the red carpet, she chose a Dolce&Gabbana maxi dress with religious icons printed, and sparkly shoes. M.I.A. went way more casual in tie-dye jeans, round sunglasses and a colorful jacket, but she changed into something sparklier for her performance of “Come Walk With Me” later that night.

YouTube Music Awards 2013 - Show

Eminem performing at the YouTube Music Awards 2013. Image c/o

The great winner of the show was Eminem, who got Artist of the Year against Justin Bieber, Katy Perry, Nicki Minaj, One Direction, Rihanna, One Direction or Taylor Swift. He performed his newest single, “Rap God“, which you can check out here. Other winners of the night were Girls’ Generation with  “I Got A Boy” for best video; “I Knew You Were Trouble” for YouTube Phenonemon; DeStorm, “See Me Standing” for Innovation of the Year; Lindsey Stirling and Pentatonix, “Radioactive” for Response of the Year; and Macklemore & Ryan Lewis for Breakthrough of the Year.